weirdwalthamstow

Ringing in the changes

In Uncategorized on January 7, 2015 at 9:02 pm

New Years Resolution: blog more.

So the holiday saw the end of one of my favourite stow institutions, the Windmill cafe. Due to a rent rise and a very long renewal demand the owners decided to move on. It had been there from shortly before I came to the area courting my partner who lives nearby. It was a great place for lunch or to take visitors for tapas and I was immensly sad to hear of its closing.

Juxtaposed with this is the new complex at the East end of the High Street. When it opened last year we went along to see ‘Intersteller’ (which I really liked). Sadly the cinema is the most basic of functional boxes; concession area and the screens. It feels rather bunker like, descending into it…

There are 4 chain restaurants as part of the development. We ate in Pizza Express. I won’t review the food, I’m sure you are familiar with this franchise but the decor was very nice. It is all inspired by the dog track and is rather uplifting!

A Nando’s has also opened. I have been saying for years that there was a chain that would do well here and they always look busy as I pass.

Still to open are a branch of Turtle Bay. I’ve never been in one but it certainly looks very colourful. And finally Yum Yums, the small Thai chain which had to fight to get included over the bigger names. I’m glad local pressure meant two smaller companies got the premises.

But given the choice I prefer to spend with the local independants. Because we’ll miss them when they’re gone.

  1. It was indeed sad to say goodbye to our beloved Windmill 😦 I am REALLY looking forward to Grillstock potentially opening at The Scene (if council documents are to be believed) – but that wont be until April.

Leave a Reply

