weirdwalthamstow

Yum Yum

In food on November 20, 2016 at 5:45 pm

So before last night’s Oxjam gig Ms Weird and I decided to eat out. And took the opportunity to finally get around to trying Yum Yum.

20161119_182847

Soft lighting and lots of wood.

This was the ‘chain’ restaurant (the second one, anyway) that many locals supported in their bid to be included in the Empire Bunker alongside the bigger chains.

So we arrived around 6:30 PM so it was quiet with some shoppers and one family, but it soon picked up business. We got to ordering drinks. I had a Tiger beer but noted the Wildcard IPA on the menu. It came with a chilled glass – an appreciated detail. Ms Weird had a ‘Super Hero’ mocktail; while grapefruit isn’t to my palate she really enjoyed it. There was a big range of wines (just 4 beers, pah!). But the long list of mocktails is a good thing for those who don’t want to booze but fancy something more interesting than a coke. We also got a jug of tap water with glasses.

20161119_184453

Sweetcorn and pumpkin cakes. The top right one is an imposter; my partner swapped one of her bits of chicken #relationshipgoals

I went for the sweetcorn and pumpkin cake starter. They were lovely, as was my partner’s chicken pieces.

20161119_193047

Thinly battered chicken and sticky rice.

For mains Ms Weird enjoyed her Pad Thai and I had a dish of thinly battered chicken and vegetables with sticky rice. VERY sticky rice. The stickiest rice I’ve certainly ever had.

By the way there seems to be a lot of vegetarian options in the menu too. I didn’t ask for the password but there also seems to be wifi. There was gentle guitar music playing; this is a much better option for dinner chat than Grillstock in that regard.

Overall I like Yum Yum. It’s mostly what I pictured and is a solid choice. I’m really glad that Thai food is now adding to the culinary diversity of the local food scene.

Leave a Reply

